Robert Bedner at Cura Design

關於

CURA Design 將具有相同想法的不同背景的人們聚集在一起。

關於庫拉設計

 

Cura Design(原研究 + 設計) 已實踐超過 14 年,完成了 150 多個項目,涉及英國西南部和倫敦及國外的項目。 Cura Design 是在特許建築技術專家協會(英國倫敦)註冊的特許實踐機構。我們的工作區域包括英國西南部,包括倫敦在內,儘管我們也完成了遠至紐約市和台灣的項目。提供加急服務。可提供規劃和大綱規劃申請的遞延費用和提升費用安排。  

 

2009 年,該辦公室獲得了全國艾倫金獎的“高度讚揚”和 2011 年普利茅斯阿伯克龍比獎最佳小型開發項目(新街住宅擴建)。 2017 年,該辦公室獲得了最佳社區項目和普利茅斯人民獎(Stiltskin 兒童劇院)以及最佳社區項目(聯合角)。此外,該實踐是 2015 年 RIBA 贊助的普利茅斯西區創意大賽的獲勝者(與手繪之家和 Peter Warm 顧問聯合)。我們承擔了各種項目,但也對親生物設計和永續農業有著濃厚的興趣——這些都是可持續的設計類型,他們都熱愛自然,並努力保護和增強場地上的植物和生物多樣性。親生物設計還可以努力增加“綠地容積率”(即,作為設計過程的一部分,增加場地上的植物和當地野生動物的數量,以達到項目之前場地上的數量。)  

Cura Design 為住宅、商業、醫療保健和文化項目提供建築設計和研究服務,以我們與自然的關係為核心設計價值,是創造新型建築環境的驅動力和發生器。

 

Cura Design 目前正致力於 Worton - Wiltshire (AONB)、Kilve - Somerset(Quontock AONB 旁邊)、Gerrards Cross - South Bucks 和 Newton Ferrers(海濱) - 德文、托普舍姆、德文、奧克漢普頓康沃爾和普利茅斯市中心的住宅和醫療保健和文化項目。 Cura Designs 項目範圍從大型醫療保健提供者的研究服務和研討會到 與喜歡參與設計的自建者和客戶合作。

關於第 80 段房屋的說明

很明顯,親生物設計可以在提高設計標準和生產卓越品質的住宅設計方面發揮重要作用。政府最近於 2021 年 7 月發布了最新版本的 NPPF,前 NPPF 2019 第 79 段中的規定現包含在 NPPF 2021 的第 80 段中:

 

“規劃政策和決策應避免在農村開發孤立的房屋,除非適用以下一種或多種情況:

“該設計具有卓越的品質,因為它:
- 真正傑出,反映了建築的最高標準,有助於提高農村地區更普遍的設計標準;和
- 將顯著增強其直接環境,並對當地的定義特徵敏感。

— NPPF,第 80 段(標準 e)(2021 年)

 羅伯特·貝德納 (Robert Bedner) 的筆記, 庫拉設計總監

 

我的建築實踐,最近更名為 Cura Design,始於 2007 年,從那時起一直作為設計工作室運營。在這段時間裡,Ive 有機會與西南地區的一些偉大人物以及紐約和倫敦的持續聯繫人和合作者一起工作。

 

我的基礎和培訓是從技術角度獲得的,並通過為歐洲和美國的廣泛國際公認的建築和藝術從業者工作而形成,其中包括兩個 獲得普利茲克獎的建築實踐:挪威的Sverre Fehn 、巴黎的 Renzo Piano和紐約市的美國傳奇藝術家Vito Acconci ,其多元化的實踐最終包括雕塑、建築設計和景觀設計。

 

2007 年,我成為特許建築技術專家並創立了 Research + Design。我在普利茅斯及其周邊的重要遺產地設計和運行項目,包括米爾菲爾德、皇家威廉庭院和各種住宅區。

 

2020 年,Research + Design 更名為 Cura Design。

Cura 作為一個詞可以在葡萄牙語和西班牙語中翻譯為“使或變得健全或再次健康的過程”或“治癒的禮物”。簡而言之,Cura Design 致力於通過設計過程治愈自然世界並重新與自然世界建立聯繫,該過程治愈自然世界,治愈和改善建築環境,更重要的是我們的福祉。英國和國外有大量研究和文獻對這種方法進行了量化和驗證。

 

我在 2018 年 CESW 埃克塞特氣候峰會、2019 年第 13 屆歐洲城鎮和城鎮規劃雙年會議和 2021 年可持續地球 - 氣候緊急情況 - 淨零競賽中談到了親生物設計和當前項目。之前,我有機會在 2010-2012 年在普利茅斯大學擔任模塊負責人演講,過去曾在 Greenbuild Expo、專家諮詢中心 Grand Designs Live 和 BBC Radio Devon 發表演講,談論當地的建築問題。我曾在 2013 年至 2018 年擔任英國特許建築技術協會西部地區主席。從 2014 年至今,我目前是普利茅斯市議會設計審查小組的成員。

當前和過去項目的貢獻者和合作者:

Crystal Hopwood、Ludovic Bacon、Giulia Scaramuzzi、Julie Lndemarre、Andreas Nann、Ebony Dodgen、Ben Tapscott、Izzy Bascoy、Conal Stubbs、Jesus Garcia Perojie、Matic Kuer、Simone Plassard、Anrea Ghenzi、Fanni Weihmuller、StructBural Structure 工程師

Robert Bedner at Cura Design

About

CURA Design brings together people from different backgrounds with the same idea.

About Cura Design

 

Cura Design (formerly Research + Design)  have been in practice for over 14 years and completed over 150 projects working on projects throughout the Southwest UK and London and abroad. Cura Design are a Chartered Practice registered at the Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (London, UK). Our working area includes the southwest of the UK up to and including London though we have also completed projects as far afield as New York City and Taiwan. Rush Service available. Deferred Fee and Uplift Fee arrangements for planning and outline planning applications available. 

 

In 2009 the office won both a "High Commendation" from the national Alan King Award and Plymouths Abercrombie Award in 2011 for Best Minor Development (New Street Residential Extension). In 2017 the office won Best Community Project and People of Plymouth Award (Stiltskin Childrens Theatre) as well as Best Community Project (Union Corner). In addition the practice was Winner (in conjuction with Hand Drawn homes and Peter Warm Consultants) of the RIBA sponsored Plymouth West End Ideas Competition in 2015. We take on all manner of projects though also have a keen interest in biophilic design and permaculture - these are both sustainable types of design that have a love of nature at heart and endeavour to protect and enhance the plants and biodiversity on the site. Biophilic design can also endeavour to increase "the green plot ratio" (ie. increase the amount of plants and local wildlife on the site as part of the design process to what was on the site prior to the project.)  

Cura Design provides architectural design and research services for residential, commercial, healthcare and cultural projects with our relationship to nature as the core design value, the driver and generator for creating a new type of built environment.

 

Cura Design are currently working on  residential and healthcare and cultural projects in Worton - Wiltshire (AONB), Kilve - Somerset (next to Quontock AONB), Gerrards Cross -South Bucks and Newton Ferrers(waterfront) - Devon, Topsham , Devon, Okehampton Cornwall, and Plymouth City Centre. Cura Designs projects range from research services and workshops for large healthcare providers to  collaborating with self builders and Clients that like to get involved in the design.

Vacancies

 

As a small office, we are always interested in hearing from talented and motivated students and architects who work well under their own initiative and are looking for a practice they can commit to. In addition, we have partnered with other architectural practices and developers for specific projects. We work on PCs and Macs and predominantly use Autocad, Adobe Creative Suite, Sketchup and 3D Rendering Software. As of June 2022 we are only hiring freelancers and consultants (though this may change in the near future). Ideally condidates should be located in the Southwest UK though also we do work with people in London and abroad for specific projects.

If you are potentially interested in joining the practice please send us a hard copy letter, CV and portfolio.

We keep portfolios on file for 6 months and will contact you should an appropriate vacancy arise. We regret that we are not able to respond to all applications.

Please submit a hard copy of your CV and portfolio to Cura Design 6 Dale Road Plymouth PL4 6PE Attention: Office Manager.

 

A note about Paragraph 80 houses

Its clear that Biophilic Design can play a large role in the raising of design standards and producing residential designs of exceptional quality. The Government recently published its latest iteration of the NPPF in July 2021 and the provisions within paragraph 79 of the former NPPF 2019 are now contained in paragraph 80 of the NPPF 2021:

 

“Planning policies and decisions should avoid the development of isolated homes in the countryside unless one or more of the following circumstances apply:

"The design is of exceptional quality, in that it:
- is truly outstanding, reflecting the highest standards in architecture, and would help to raise standards of design more generally in rural areas; and
- would significantly enhance its immediate setting, and be sensitive to the defining characteristics of the local area.

— NPPF, paragraph 80 (criterion e) (2021)

 A note from Robert Bedner,  Director Of Cura Design

 

My architectural practice, recently renamed Cura Design was started in 2007 and has operated as a design studio since. During this period of time Ive had opportunities to work with some great people both in the southwest and as well with ongoing contacts and collaborators in New York and London.

 

My foundation and training were gained from a technical perspective and formed from working for a wide range of internationally recognized practitioners of architecture and art in Europe and the USA including two Pritzker Prize winning architectural practices : Sverre Fehn in Norway, Renzo Piano in Paris and the American legendary Artist Vito Acconci in New York City whose diverse practice eventually included sculpture, architectural design, and landscape design.

 

In 2007 I became a Chartered Architectural Technologist and founded Research + Design. I have had experience designing and running projects at significant heritage sites in and around Plymouth including The Millfields, Royal William Yard and various residential sites.

 

In 2020, Research + Design was renamed Cura Design.

Cura as a word can be translated in Portugese and Spanish as "the process of making or becoming sound or healthy again" or "the gift of healing". Simply put, Cura Design endeavours to heal and to reconnect with the natural world through a design process that heals the natural world and also heals and enhances the built enviroment and importantly our well being. There are a great deal of studies and literature both in the Uk and abroad that have quantified and validated this approach.

 

Speaking and Events

In 2022 Cura presented its work and perspective on biophlic design for integrating nature into our buildings at Future Plymouth 2030 ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUIvwhkF3CQ ) and recently on the podcast at the Journal of Biophilic Design (to be aired in February 2022). Cura will be attending the FutureBuild Show at Londons Excel Centre March 1 to 3.

 

In 2021 Cura presented at Plymouth University Sustainable Earth 2021 - Climate Emergency - the Race to Net Zero and Plymouth “Grey to Green” 2021 with Dusty Gedge.

 

Cura have also been featured at Homebuilding and Renovating Show London and Bath 2021, CESW Exeter Climate Summit 2018, The 13th Biennial European Town and Town Planners Conference 2019,Greenbuild Expo, the Expert Advice Centre Grand Designs Live, and BBC Radio Devon speaking about local architectural issues.

Robert Bedner has presented biophilic design and current projects at the CESW Exeter Climate Summit 2018, The 13th Biennial European Town and Town Planners Conference 2019, and the Sustainable Earth 2021 - Climate Emergency - the Race to Net Zero. Previously Robert lectured as Module Leader at the University of Plymouth in 2010-2012 and in the past featured at Greenbuild Expo, the Expert Advice Centre Grand Designs Live, and BBC Radio Devon speaking about local architectural issues.  Please contact office@curadesign.com for enquiries regarding speaking and public presentations.

Contributers and Collaborators for Current and Past projects:

Crystal Hopwood, Ludovic Bacon, Giulia Scaramuzzi, Julie Lndemarre, Andreas Nann, Ebony Dodgen, Ben Tapscott,Izzy Bascoy, Conal Stubbs,Jesus Garcia Perojie, Matic Kuer, Simone Plassard, Anrea Ghenzi, Fanni Weihmuller, Studio JB, Structurehaus Structural Engineers.