top of page
Scotland loch

Landschaft - In der Nähe

Glencoe Schottland

Kommerzielle Projekte

"Cura Design completed a project for us on the Southwest coast. We found Cura Design very efficient, they produced some aspiring plans in a timely fashion. Robert Bedner is very friendly and approachable and was always there to advise as needed."    M. Mills, Director, Mills Property Oxford Limited.

"Cura Design was very helpful and provided a great insight into the local regulations. He was also kind enough to introduce his builder who was open to showing us his work. I'd highly recommend."    A. Patel

Die kommerziellen Projekte haben biophile Elemente, die das Wohlbefinden der Bewohner steigern und auch die natürliche Umgebung in der Umgebung verbessern. Cura Design hat Erfahrungen, die von reichen  Hospitality- und Hotelprojekte bis hin zu Studentenunterkünften und Restaurants. Bei den meisten Projekten gelangen Sie mit einem Klick auf das Bild zu weiterführenden Informationen. Die verbleibenden Projekte werden in Zukunft verknüpft.

Hot Springs Hotel Taiwan
Clubhouse design cornwall
Contemporary Student accomodation

Foto: Joakim Boren Fotografie

Machbarkeitsstudie Hot Springs Boutique Hotel Guguan, Taiwan

(Projektteam: Arups Associates (Structural Engineering), Lowings Carpenter Design (Fassadenberater), Dr. Doreen Bernath und Dr. Chi Jung Sun (Architektin) und Inspace Design.

 

Machbarkeitsstudie für ein Luxusresort mit heißen Quellen in Taiwan. Zusammenarbeit mit Teams aus Großbritannien und Taipeh  leitete erste Strategien und Studien, die zu einem Abschlussbericht und einer Multimedia-Präsentation für die Kundengruppe in Taipei führten. Zu den untersuchten Optionen gehörten: 200-Zimmer-Mittelklassehotels und 22-Zimmer-Superior-High-End-Luxusunterkünfte. Der Bericht umfasste Site-Studien, Designphilosophie, Besuchererfahrung und Kundenoptionen für die strategische Entwicklung der Site. Wert: 23 Mio. £.

Clubhaus für Ferienpark Cornwall

 

Das bestehende Clubhaus war ein Zusammenschluss einer Reihe von Erweiterungen und Renovierungen, die vor den 1930er Jahren zurückreichten. Das neue Design hat einen großen Teil der Gebäudeinnenräume und Fassaden abgerissen, behält aber die Mehrheit der Dächer und Strukturelemente der bestehenden Konstruktion bei. Das neue Design integriert die resultierenden Räume mit einer einzigen zeitgenössischen Konstruktion, die sowohl auf die Bedürfnisse des Kunden eingeht als auch eine Verbindung mit der umgebenden Natur und Landschaft herstellt. Orte im Gebäude beziehen sich direkt auf Orte auf der Terrasse und darüber hinaus auf die Aussicht.

Zwei Erweiterungen wurden entwickelt, die einen neuen Eingang/Rezeption und ein Geschäft an der Vorderseite des Gebäudes und eine neue Bühne, eine erweiterte Küche, Waschküche und WC-Einrichtungen an der Rückseite des Grundstücks beinhalteten. Es wurden natürliche Materialien gewählt, die mit der Urlaubs- und Strandatmosphäre des Clubhauses in Verbindung stehen. Gussglas wird in Leuchtkästen verwendet, die vorhandene Deckenaussparungen ausnutzen und den darunter liegenden Räumen natürliches Licht und Qualität verleihen. Befestigungen aus Zedernholz und verzinktem Stahl werden von der Außenseite ins Innere des Gebäudes getragen.

 

 

Umbau und Erweiterung der Kneipe zum Studentenwohnheim

 

Bis zu einem kürzlich erfolgten Umbau diente der Ort als Kneipe und war vor Ort als Zwischenstopp für Fußballfans bekannt. Der Vorschlag erforderte:

10 Studentenzimmer

Gemeinschaftsküche/Loungebereich/Wäscherei

Gemeinsame externe Gartenausstattung  

Das Projekt liegt an einer wichtigen Zufahrtsstraße in die Innenstadt. Das bestehende Hinterhaus des Grundstücks ragt aus seiner Ecklage heraus und ist unansehnlich. Eine neue, zeitgemäße Erweiterung mit öffentlichem Eingang stellt eine starke Ecke für das Gelände und einen maßstäblichen Übergang zu den angrenzenden Gebäuden dar. Das Gebäudeprofil der Erweiterung (wie das Gebäude den Himmel berührt) und die Größe und Form der vorgeschlagenen Fensteröffnungen machen  leiser Hinweis sowohl auf die Kneipe als auch auf die lokale Umgangssprache.

Die Projektspezifikation umfasst erste Details aus hochisoliertem Stoff für die Wände und das Dach, verwendet erneuerbare Materialien und beinhaltet Sonnenkollektoren und Regenwassernutzung.

Cura Design works with shipping containers.
Cura Design designed a mobile bakery.

Echtes Food-Café

Cura Design wurde beauftragt, ein Restaurant zu entwerfen, das auf einem Schiffscontainer basiert und in einem Naturschutzgebiet an der Küste von Plymouth aufgestellt werden soll. Das Design bestand aus einer lichtdurchlässigen Glasfaserbox, die unter einem kupferverkleideten Dach platziert wurde, das sich in Sitzgelegenheiten verwandelte. 

Das Projekt sollte vorübergehend sein und die bestehende Straße und den Bürgersteig nicht beschädigen.

Mobile Bäckerei - Eine temporäre mobile Bäckerei für Nationalpark und AONB  Websites  

 

Die mobile Bäckerei wurde so konzipiert, dass sie als Container oder eine Reihe von Containern auf Roll-On- und Roll-LKWs schnell transportiert werden kann. Die Container sollten temporär an sensiblen AONB-Standorten aufgestellt werden. Die Verwendung der Container war mit einem Überraschungsmoment verbunden, da es sich um ein hydraulisches System handelte, das sich öffnete, um die einmal installierte Bäckerei freizugeben.

 

Die mobile Bäckerei bestand aus 5 Elementen. 1. Roll-on- und Roll-off-LKW 2. 20-Fuß-Versandcontainer 3. Sitzgelegenheiten und Möbelm4. Beschilderung und Grafiken am Straßenrand 5. Überdachungen und Beschattung.

Konstruktionsvariationen wurden in Betracht gezogen und entworfen, darunter ein Behälter, zwei Behälter, drei Behälter und drei Behälterstapel.

 

bottom of page

IMG_1499.JPG

Commercial Projects

Landscape - Close to

Glencoe Scotland

The commercial projects have biophilic elements that increase the well being of the occupants and as well enhance the natural environment in the area. Cura Design have experience that range from  Hospitality and Hotel projects to student accomodation and restaurants. Most projects are linked to further information by clicking on the image. The remaining projects will be linked in the future.

Hot Springs Hotel Taiwan

Feasibility Study Hot Springs Boutique Hotel Guguan, Taiwan

(Project team: Arups Associates (Structural Engineering), Lowings Carpenter Design (Facade Consultant), Dr. Doreen Bernath and Dr. Chi Jung Sun (Architect) and Inspace Design.

 

Feasibility study for a hot springs luxury resort in Taiwan. Working with teams from both the UK and Taipei  directed initial strategies and studies leading to a final report and multi media presentation made to the Client group in Taipei. Options studied included: 200 room mid range hotel accomodation and 22 room superior high end luxury accomodation. Report included site studies, design philosphy, visitor experience and client options for the strategic development of the site. Value: £23 M.

Clubhouse design cornwall

Clubhouse for Holiday Park Cornwall

 

The existing clubhouse was an amalgomation of a series of extensions and renovations dating back before the 1930s. The new design demolished a large portion of the building interiors and facades but retains the majority of the roofs and structural elements of the existing construction. The new design integrates the resulting spaces with a single contemporary construction that responds both to the needs of the Client and reconnects with the surrounding nature and landscape. Places in the building relate directly to places in the terrace and beyond to the views.

Two extensions were developed that incoprated a new entrance/reception and shop to the front of the building and a new stage, extended kitchen laundry and wc facilities to the rear of the property. Natural materials were chosen that related to the holiday and beach atmosphere of the clubhouse. Cast glass is utilized in light boxes that eexploit existing ceiling recesses and lend a natural light and quality to the spaces below. Cedar and galvanized steel fixtures are carried through form the outside to the inside of the building.

 

 

Photo: Joakim Boren Photography

Contemporary Student accomodation

Conversion and Extension of Pub to Student Accomodation

 

Operating as a pub until a recent conversion, the site was locally famous as a stopping off place for football supporters. The proposal required:

10 Student Rooms

Shared Kitchen/ Lounge Area/Laundry

Shared external Garden Amenities 

The project is located on a major access route into the city centre. The existing rear tenement of the site juts out from its corner location and is unsightly. A new contemporary extension with public entrance provide a strong corner for the site and a transition in scale from the adjacent buildings. The building profile of the extension (how the building touches the sky) and the size and shape of the proposed window openings make  quiet reference both to the pub and the local vernacular.

The project specification includes highly insulated fabric first detailing for the walls and roof, uses renewable materials and incorporates solar panels and rainwater harvesting.

shipping container restaurant

Real Food Cafe

Cura Design were appointed to design a restaurnat based on a shipping container to be located in a conservation area by the seaside in Plymouth. The design featured a translucent fiberglass box that was placed under a copper clad roof that turned into seating. 

The project was designed to be temporary and not to harm the existing street and sidewalk..

Mobile bakery built from shipping containers

Mobile Bakery - A Temporary Mobile Bakery for National Park and AONB  sites 

 

The mobile bakery was designed to be quickly transported as a container or series of containers roll on and roll of trucks. The containers were to be installed in sensitive AONB locations on a temporary basis. The use of the containers involved the element of surprise as they involved an hydrolic system that opened to reveal the bakery once installed.

 

The mobile bakery consisted of 5 elements. 1. Roll on and Roll Off Truck 2. 20 foot shipping container 3. Seating and furniturem4. Roadside signage and graphics 5. Canopies and shading.

Variations of construction were considered and designed including one container, two container, three container and three container stack.